Winter has come!

Oh darn! And I thought it would be a nice balmy winter…think again, sports fans! The snow finally dropped t-minus 36 hours ago. It’s deep too! Slick and wet, the snow has plagued the Western slope of Colorado with Biblical proportions! And you know what? I don’t mind at all except for the fact that it has put a halt to my running. That really grinds my gears! So now I’m stuck on a stationary bike, writing to you, lovely reader, and sweating while I provide a brief update on my life since..well, a while ago.
English 111 is winding down and so is my college Algebra, so you know what that means: finals for all! I have completed my final essay, an argumentative piece on the legalization of euthanasia, and with the help of a knowledgable friend of mine and more than my fair share of MLA format review, I have completed it. With success, too, I might add! To begin with, I felt it sloppy and lacking on passion, but the more I read it and edited, the better it shaped up to be. Now, I’m expecting a high B..possibly mid. A’s are few and far between with this professor, so I’m not holding my breath. I am rather nervous for my algebra final, however. A semester’a worth of mathematical hell all in two minuscule hours. Yikes! But, doing as much as I can muster will happen and I WILL pass that class!
In addition to my academic pursuits, my athletics have been coming along at warp speed too. Wrestling has started in full swing and I am still lacking a drill partner half the time. I’m at that point where I am too inexperienced for my 160 counterpart to gain anything from wrestling me (projected state winner, or at least high placer) and too big for most of the freshman (I’m just fine with wrestling our 190, but the coaches believe I will become injured quickly). So, for the time being, I bounce through the weight classes with the fury of a rubber toy paid for with a quarter in a local grocery store’s gum ball machine.
Regardless, I am beyond excited for the first tournaments/duals this weekend! The home one should glean me more matches, but the other is varsity and there is no guarantee I will be given a match there. No matter, Colorado wrestling seems to be a higher caliber than what I am used to, so I treasure this opportunity just to watch, if nothing else.
Anyways, that has been a slight update. More to follow..more interesting things like thoughts instead of just events.

Leave a comment